HOME
18  
   HARWICH ON THE MAP Hannah Salisbury, Essex Record Office    The Essex Record Office (ERO) is based in Chelmsford, but cares for records which cover the  whole of the historic county of Essex, including, of course, Harwich. On Monday 28 July, you can  enjoy a free display of maps, prints and photographs from the ERO’s collections through which we can trace Harwich’s development over the centuries. The display will include a large manorial map of Harwich, Dovercourt and Wrabness dating from 1751, and a set of photographs of the  Victorian development of Harwich, including the arrival of the railway. Both of these fascinating  items only joined our collection recently, and this is an ideal opportunity to see them without  travelling to Chelmsford.    The 1751 map (catalogued as D/DU 2590/1/1) was made for Nathaniel Garland (1684-1756), a  wealthy mercer, to show his extensive estates in the area, and was surveyed and drawn by Thomas  Browne (1702-1780). Amongst other things, it shows field names, woodland, orchards, two osier  grounds in Wrabness, a decoy pond in Ramsey, cliffs, saltings, marsh drains and banks, landing places, churches, windmills, and other buildings, and a street plan of Harwich including the lighthouse, and the lines of the defensive wall and ditch. The map was in fairly good condition  when it arrived, albeit with some tears and staining, but the whole map was covered in a layer of  surface dirt, and so spent several weeks in our Conservation Studio being carefully cleaned.  
The photograph album showing the development of Harwich in the 1850s (which has been  catalogued as A13438) contains 47 rare salt paper prints. Many of the photographs have faded, but despite this, the images remain remarkably sharp. They capture a moment when Harwich was  being transformed by the rebuilding of the quay, the arrival of the railway and new developments such as Orwell Terrace. The album seems to have used the new technology of photography to deliberately create a record of these momentous changes. The album is too fragile to travel, but the  images have been digitised. 
An ERO Conservator carrying out   surface cleaning of the map 
Nathaniel Garland’s 1751 map unrolled in the               Essex Record Office Conservation Studio 
Harwich’s short-lived first railway station 
Top-hatted men, probably investors in the new  developments, in one of Harwich’s streets 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 18 18